I Didn’t Know SQUAT

Posted on

So it’s been a little while, my blogging got a little thrown off by work, but it’s time to regain control! And unfortunately the news has come out that Quick Paleo Meal Prep is no longer free in the kindle book store, but is only $2.99 so it’s not unreasonably priced at all. Now for some squat talk, it is always a little discouraging to think that you finally have your mobility and mechanics worked out, only to take a video from a different angle and notice a whole host of OTHER problems….
YOU MAD BRO?


This is the phrase used by people in the gym who are “youtubers” and video their workouts in an obnoxious way. I’m not that person. I video my squats from different angles not for cinematic reasons, but to make sure I’m not tweaking anything in the process of BEASTING. This video revealed something I’ve been working on for a year or so, and obviously neglected recently, because it’s come back. It’s a twist in my posture in the top and bottom of the squat 

  
IT’S SLIGHT BUT IT’S THERE


When I was younger I was in an accident that left me with only 30% hearing in my left ear. So since then my body has compensated by twisting my stance to point my right ear forward. This is great for survival but not fun dealing with muscular imbalances and corrections when lifting. So as you can see in the bottom of the squat I’m doing well with an upright torso, hips are not winking at the bottom any more. BUT HOLD UP! Why is my left leg rotated out for proper torque but my right leg is basically pointed forward? 
THE GLUTE’S GOTTA GROW!


This has happened because my right glute is stronger, which is why my torso is being twisted. I don’t notice this because to me I feel like I’m looking straight ahead (cause I have been living this way for almost 20 years). So I’ll be working on the external rotation strength of that glute, as well as doing some doggy style raises to activate the glute more throughout the day. Also a TON of single leg work…it’s gonna take a while…but once I’m done I’ll have the prettiest squat you’ve ever seen! 😉 
YOUR CHALLENGE

Video your favorite lift and see if there’s anything you need to work on to correct any imbalances 

4 thoughts on “I Didn’t Know SQUAT

    beefdemon said:
    May 7, 2015 at 5:35 pm

    I empathize. Had my brother working out with me not too long ago, and he pointed out that the bar was getting a little crooked in the descent. The struggle is real.

    Liked by 1 person

      fellochrist said:
      May 7, 2015 at 6:23 pm

      Thanks man, it’s not the best feeling in the world but at least the squat will be pretty one day lol

      Liked by 1 person

    jncthedc said:
    May 7, 2015 at 6:37 pm

    Science behind exercise; a novel concept. Not only will your results improve better and faster, you will reduce injuries along the way. I have been exercising for over 37 years and plan on quitting somewhere in the the next 75-100 years. Hopefully enough muscle memory will get me through eternity!

    Liked by 1 person

      fellochrist said:
      May 7, 2015 at 6:39 pm

      Thank you! It’s hard to keep scaling back the weight, but like you said I’m in it for the next century lol 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

