Slow Carb WHAT??

Posted on Updated on

Slow Carb is a fancy term used by Tim  Ferriss, aka most interesting man in the world, to describe a mostly paleo diet. It doesn’t lend itself well to meal prep though, but I can help remedy that with the Quick Paleo Meal Prep book I collaborated with. Check it out here on Amazon for .99 for a limited time. 
WHAT IS IT?


It’s the least fun, most results driven and budget friendly plan for weight loss I’ve encountered so far! The gist is that you eat a small list of foods with low glycemic indexes, limit the “domino” or high calorie foods that are allowed. The list mostly includes vegetables that are not dense, so no onions or carrots or anything of that sort. The one thing that makes this plan work for me is the addition of beans to the menu! Even though you might need to deploy measures that limit gas, which beano is a great remedy…so I heard, it makes all the difference! 
WHY BEANS?


Beans are naturally caloricly DENSE food, so they give you sustained energy as well as suppress the appetite. This is my saving grace, because the reason a strict paleo diet fails is due to foods that leave you feeling empty after every meal. And if your an athlete, it’s hard to focus on getting a great workout in when your in a haze of hunger all day. 

 And high reps with moderate loads requires some focus… 
Beans are the magical ingredient to this diet that gives the energy to carelessly drift from meal to meal without the nagging sense of hunger lingering over you. 
WHAT MY DAY LOOKS LIKE


I wake up to an ICE COLD 16oz cup of water, put two eggs and three egg whites in the microwave (because yes I want cancer). While that’s cooking I prep the French press while brushing my teeth, multi tasking like a champ while stumbling around half awake. Eat and chug on the road to the gym, get there and crush it daily. For lunch I have one can black beans and two chicken breast.  

 Mind your digits when opening cans…

Then dinner is most always a chipotle burrito bowl with black beans, chicken, mild salsa, lettuce and guac. I’ve kept this up for two weeks, along with cold therapy through cold showers, and lost 8.5 lbs so far. 
YOUR CHALLENGE 

Gloss over the 4 hour body by Tim Ferriss or listen to it on YouTube. Pick up some useful stuff and be entertained by his antics. Have a great day!

2 thoughts on “Slow Carb WHAT??

    dashafitness said:
    April 28, 2015 at 7:20 pm

    Looks like I’m begging for cancer too since I microwave my eggs every day too haha! And chipotle is everything, I’m surprised it’s not breaking your bank!

    Liked by 1 person

      fellochrist said:
      April 28, 2015 at 7:30 pm

      I’ll admit, I wrote a “chipotle allowance” into my budget 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

