It’s Gettin’ COLD In Here! (Nelly Voice)

Posted on

It’s Time to Experiment

Along with living a perceived extreme diet in the form of the Paleo Diet, I like to experiment on myself with what other successful people are doing, whether it is business or fitness, I love to find my limits. And so begins the newest experiment.

THE COLD THEORY

The name is pretty much self explanitory, what we are doing is modifying our environment as much as possible (within reason), to make it as cold as possible all the time. I’m not gonna lie, this is not the most comfortable thing I’ve ever done.

WHAT IS INVOLVED

Let’s start with what I perceived to be the easiest to the most difficult. First all water that is taken in needs to be ICE COLD, not room temperature but ice cold. Whenever possible when time permits, take a 30 minute nap with an ice pack on the back of your neck. Now things get a little rougher, when you go to bed at night don’t sleep under the covers at all, not even a sheet, and keep a fan on to circulate the air in the room. Now for the hardest thing in my opinion, the cold shower twice per day. Yep I said it, cold shower, one of the most uncomfortable and longest 15 minutes of my day.

WHY….?

I won’t lie, I started this chanllenge to gain a more asthetic physique. The way this cold theory (I call it a theory still because I haven’t seen the results) works is the result of studying Michael Phelps’ diet of 12,000 calories while training for the Olympics. If it were as simple as calories in and calories out he would have had to have butterfly stroked for 23 hours per day to reach 8,000 calories. So what was the factor that allowed him to consume those calories while maintaining his weight??

THERMAL CONDUCTIVITY

In lamence terms, being in a colder environment forces our bodies to work harder to maintane our core temperature of 98.6 degrees. This can allow the average person to burn many times more calories. Wish me luck!

Cory

Leave a Reply

