Do the thing, and you shall have the power

Posted on

There was never a more impacting quote on my life than this one by Ralph Waldo Emerson. I’m sure you are nothing like me, and find yourself thinking “once I have or do _____ I’ll be able to get started.”

Waiting to act is simply another form of death

The truth is that we will never be fully prepared to do anything in our lives. Whether it’s myself sitting here in Shreveport waiting for all the lights from here to Dallas to turn green to make a trip, or someone waiting to get married until they have “a sufficient income.” It’s not the recourses that give us the power, but it’s our resourcefulness to make things happen in the face of opposition that makes us great.

I waited for the stars to align once

I had just graduated college with a degree in Graphic Design (which I will be putting to use on the headings of these blogs), and I had been dating my wife to be for about 4 years. And to preface this I’ll say that the longest relationship I had before this was about 6 months, so I knew I had a keeper ;). And upon graduating I quickly found a job making significantly more than I had at my previous occupation. So in keeping with the obsolete habit of waiting to act until I have the recourses, I asked her to marry me now that we had “a sufficient income.” But what really changed? She was the same person and so was I before we made the decision to wed, and if money only corrupts why would I wait until we had more of it? Well because I was young and foolish and willing to tempt God’s sense of humor, that’s why.

Then the stars crashed

I had been at this job for about 2 months when the manager came up to me and said “we love having you and you’re doing a great job, but we don’t have the recourses to keep you on, so we have to let you go.” So just like that the “sufficient income” was gone, and with it about two thirds of my morale and faith in the American Dream. Yet somehow even making a lot less somewhere else (basically what I was making before I graduated), we got married and have thrived two years on that income (plus about $3 raises).

All of this to say is that

We had the power to make it all along, but chose not to realize it and wait for someone to “give”(and then take) the “power” to us. You may be in a different situation in life, but I can almost garauntee you that you have the power within you to make the decisions and sacrifices to get the ball rolling. Whether it be a business venture (and you need at least a few in your life to be worth your salt at all), family, relationships, mission trips or any of the hosts of other things you could be facing, you have the power now to do it. You are the same person now as you will be when you finally get XYZ so why not just do it now, get a few bumps and bruises to learn what not to do next time, and get after this thing??

WHAT’S LIFE WITHOUT ADVENTURE?

Leave a Reply

