Why you NEED to be wealthy

Posted on Updated on

I can hear the trolls now sharpening their comment spears and lighting their keyboard torches as I type this. But take a second and hear me out on this one.

I am not saying that money  is the most important thing in the world.

In fact we see in scripture 1 Timothy 6:10 New International Version (NIV)10 For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evil. Some people, eager for money, have wandered from the faith and pierced themselves with many griefs. I whole heartedly agree with this, my love for my God and willingness to serve him has higher priority over ataining wealth. However, my desire for bringing honor and glory to God is not found in poverty and living in below comfortable positions for the sake of maintaning “holiness.”

There are many who say “You can’t be wealthy and spiritual”

I know for a fact that that’s a false statement, and it has been proven false time and time again. This type of thinking was started by those who wanted an excuse and “scriptural evidence” for not stretching themselves and growing to the potential that God encourages us to. How about this for “scriptural evidence” John 10:10 New International Verion (NIV) “The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I came that they may have life, and have it abundantly. Christ came so that we may have ABUNDANT life, not just survive. So the next time someone asks how your day was, and you respond, “well I survived,” examine your life in Christ. As Christians we are called to be the light of the world, and to be set apart. And I know this scripture of abundant life isn’t geared just towards material wealth, but for me personally, I want to bring glory to God in every way I can, whether it be business, relationships, my marriage, community service and misionally. I want to do it all to show how great God is and what He can do through us, just as I’m sure you do. But there’s a problem here, there are these things called bills and notes that tend to tie up our recources that could be going to Kingdom business.

So enters the need for wealth

Let me take a moment here in the beginning of this section

to address those who are not of the Christian faith.

We have different motives for what we do,

but the desire to help and contribute to others,

for reasons that are greater than ourselves,

is in all of us.

And though you may not subscribe to my belief (Christianity),

I believe we all have something in us that wants to give more of ourselves to others.

If you want to be able to give to the best of your ability we need to face one thing, the person who makes 300k per year can give and do more for others than the person who makes 30k per year. This doesn’t devalue the gift or the giver, but if you are like me and want to give the most and be the best for your family, you will need to up the resources just a bit. There’s a saying that I have heard tossed around and it struck me as truth “prayer is great, but prayer with a check is better.” And how much more of yourself mentally can you give to your family, friends and God if you have the stress of money taken off your mind? If you have a situation in life now that is anything like mine, you want to change it, no matter what it takes.

What about your family?

I don’t know about you, but I look forward to the day when I can give my kids what they need (and some of what they want). I also want to be able to give them a vision of what it looks like to work hard for a life that is able to contribute to others. When your family is in dire straights and needs someone who is able to give out of their excess will you be the person they call? It has been told to me many many times “There are people in this world who will have abundant spiritual lives, great families, amazing relationships and material wealth with which to bless others; why shouldn’t that be you?”

The need for wealth extends past the material benefits

Like I said in my last post, it’s not having money that makes life better, but what the money is able to do for others. I know this is a controversial topic for some, but I believe it needs to be addressed. And I could spin off on a book of ways to get more money and why you need to dump the job and work for yourself, but then this blog might not last that long ;). So until next time I invite you to consider what you would be able to do for others if you had just 10k more per year. Don’t think about your situation and how you can improve your life, think of others and the services they require. Bless others and you will be blessed (most importantly, not just monetarily)

Leave a Reply

